Agar Agar Gelatin Flakes

Agar-agar or just agar in culinary circles is a vegetarian gelatin substitute produced from seaweed. The jelly-like substance, which comes from red algae, is made up of particles found in galactose, a blood sugar like glucose and fructose that is foundational for sustaining animal life.
Also known as China grass and Japanese kanten, the white and semi-translucent vegetable gelatin contains a few calories and is an excellent source of a calcium, iron, and fiber. It is sold in Asian and health food stores in both flake, powder, and bar varieties, and can be used in several dairy-free and vegan recipes as a stabilizing and thickening agent for custards, puddings, sauces, and even vegetarian marshmallows.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.